God Is Able & I Am Fruitful

Most of you know at least some of our story if you’ve been following this blog for a while. You read about our difficulties getting pregnant, the four long and hard years that we prayed and tried and waited, the miracle healing and conception that took place, and then met our miracle baby boy who made us a family. All along in my journey I knew a few things for certain: I knew that God would be faithful to us and bless us with children, and I knew that I would be called to share our story of God’s goodness to encourage others along the way.

Isn’t that how God works? He takes you through the crazy journey of struggle and pain and growing in faith, showing Himself good and faithful all along the way to give you a story SO good, SO amazing, SO glorifying to HIM that you just have to share it with others.

For months and months I’ve heard quite audibly in my spirit that God is calling me to encourage women who are trying to conceive. I’d push it away and think, “Later, later,” only to be convicted once again. I’ve sat next to women at church who have openly told me their infertility struggles, met husbands who have told me about their wives, heard sermons about following your calling. It’s almost humorous, really, how clearly God is eagerly yanking at my dress saying, “THIS is what I’ve called you to do.”

Which brings me to Tuesday.

This Tuesday, August 1, I will be hosting a small group for women who are struggling to conceive, those who have felt the pain of miscarriage, those who’ve lost their newborns, and those who are pursuing adoption because of their fertility struggles. We’ll come together in a safe place where you can share your story and find hope for the journey that you’re in. I don’t have a name for the group yet…I’m still praying through some options….but I do know that this is what God is calling me to do, so I am believing that there are women HE is calling and preparing for the group.

My mission for the group is this:

  • to create a space for women who are longing for children to have a safe place to share with others who understand
  • to pray for one another, believing that NOTHING is impossible for our God
  • to dig into the Word of God to see what He has to say about family, fertility and His promises for us
  • to encourage one another, hold each other up when we’re hurting and find laughter again
  • to create a place where we can hear from women who’ve gone before us and be encouraged by their testimonies
  • to be a safe place to grieve what has been stolen from us and bind us broken hearts
  • to find healing and a renewed hope

I’m SO excited for this group to begin! I have so many things that I want to share with the group, so many lessons and testimonies, scriptures and prayers that helped me along the way. There will be some of my favorite books for ladies to purchase, printouts of scriptures for everyone to take with them, and snacks to gobble up as we catch up with one another.

So my sister, my friend– would you like to join us and share your story? Share your hope, your grief, your pain, your joy, your love, and your heartache?

If YOU live near the N. County San Diego area and this sounds like something you might be interested in, I hope that you will consider joining us! Our first meeting is Tuesday, August 1 from 7-9 PM in Carlsbad. If you want to come, email me at alexisgward(at)gmail(dot)com for my address and directions. The plan for now is to meet every third week which makes our next two meetings August 22 and September 12.

I am so excited about what the Lord has for all of us. It going to be awesome!

xoxo

One thought on “God Is Able & I Am Fruitful

Leave a Reply

