I Can’t Believe I Live Down The Street From This

IMG_1442FlowerFields2014_1

Have I mentioned that I live in paradise? Nope, not Hawaii, although the beaches and sunsets might make one feel like they are in Hawaii. Not Germany, although the little European deli down the street serves up some amazing German food and European treats. Not Holland, although the hundreds upon hundreds of acres of vibrant flowers might make you feel like you’ve stumbled upon the tulips of Holland.

We live in sunny Carlsbad (although we still like to claim Encinitas), a lovely beach community north of San Diego. While it might not be the “hippest” area around (thus the reason we claim Encinitas), the beaches are lovely and we live in a neighborhood that we absolutely love.

IMG_1463FlowerFields2014

In the four years that I’ve lived in Southern California I’ve yet to get tired of the beauty this is all around me here. I still open the windows when I drive along the coast, breathing deeply the wet, salty air. I love to take walks along the beach and marvel at all the surfers running to catch the last few hours of daylight in the ocean. And I love, LOVE springtime when the flower fields come alive with hundreds of thousands of blooms raising their heads to the sun.

Yesterday was the first time that I’ve visited Carlsbad’s flower fields. We live down the street from them, so we can see the rows of rainbow flowers any time we are out and about, but I had never walked around in them until yesterday. I decided that I wanted to see what the fuss was all about. After all, every day busloads of school kids and tourists unload to explore our Carlsbad treasure. So I grabbed J’s camera and fancy lenses (the kind that he’ll kill me if I break them) and headed out in the morning before the crowds.

It was SO beautiful. I expected the 50 arces of giant Tecolote Ranunculus flowers to be pretty, but I didn’t expect to be blown away by it all. The view of the Pacific ocean just beyond the rows of color. The rose garden. The lovely English garden. The sweet pea maze. The beauty of it all was just breathtaking.

IMG_1436FlowerFields2014

IMG_1473FlowerFields2014

Don’t believe me? See for yourself. I can’t believe I live down the street from all this beauty.

Find out more about the Carlsbad Flower Fields here. The fields are just down the street from Legoland as well, so if you’re visiting San Diego between the months of March and May and are going to Legoland, be sure to take a stroll through the flower fields.

 

IMG_1471FlowerFields2014

7 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe I Live Down The Street From This

Leave a Reply

