5 Ingredient Chocolate Chip Cookies

5 Ingredient Cookies

Happy Monday everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend. I felt like our weekend went by way to fast, and I’d love to have an extra day today.

On Saturday I had a bit of extra time on my hands while I waited for J to get home from a photo shoot, so I decided to bake! After a bit of looking around on Pinterest, I found this great recipe for cookies that was super intreguing to me — no butter, no flour and only 5 ingredients. Yep, they are gluten-free with no funky flour substitutes! It really was the 5 ingredient part that sold me. No mixing dry ingredients in a separate bowl from your wet ingredients. The cookies are held together with almond butter instead of flour and literally take about 3 minutes to mix up. It’s genius!

And the cookie itself? So moist and chewy and good! The one bummer is that my cookies fell apart a bit, mostly because I made them extra-large in size. But who really cares if a cookie breaks in half when it tastes good and only takes a few minutes to make. Try them! You’ll love them!

**One lil disclaimer: This recipe calls for all almond butter. I ran out of almond butter and made mine with half almond butter, half peanut butter (both all natural, no sugar or salt added) so feel free to do that as well if you enjoy a peanut buttery taste.

Ingredients:

1 large egg
1 cup almond butter (can also use peanut butter her OR go crazy and do half almond butter and peanut butter)
1/2 Cup light brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup chocolate chips

To Make:

Preheat your oven to 350 F. In a medium-sized bowl whisk your egg. Add in the almond butter, brown sugar and baking soda and stir to combine. Lightly mix in the chocolate chips until just combined.

On a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, drop balls of cookie dough and flatten with the back side of your spoon. Bake for 7-9 minutes. The cookies will continue to bake once out of the oven so don’t over bake! Makes one dozen large cookies or 18 smaller cookies.

5Ingredient-cookies1

Original recipe from theviewfromgreatisland.com

8 thoughts on “5 Ingredient Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’ve never even heard of almond butter. Not sure I’d find it here 😉 I made cookies (or biscuits as I call them) on Saturday too. Hubby is not here so I’ve somehow managed to scoff the lot down. Will make some more for his return!

    1. Almond butter is just like peanut butter, only made out of almonds! It’s kind of a craze in the US right now because it’s healthier than peanut butter and so many kids here have peanut allergies. But you can totally make this with peanut butter! I’m sure the hubby would love a treat when he gets back…and you can sample a few before then. 😉

  2. Hi Alexis! Those look so delicious!! I’m going to have to try them.
    Oh, and I just nominated you for a Liebster Award! You can find more information about it on my blog. I hope that you decide to play along and do your own Liebster post. It’s a fun way to get to know other bloggers. And I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! 🙂

    http://kuukisuart.com/2014/03/01/liebster-award/

    Danielle

Leave a Reply

