Gluten Free Blueberry Muffins

BlueberryMuffins_paleo448

I just finished a 24-day cleanse and challenge. No sugar, no dairy, no white flours (and rarely any gluten at all), no alcohol and no caffeine. Sound hard? It can be. But honestly, the rewards outweigh the difficulty. Eating clean like this makes my body feel great and helps take take of all my nasty bread, dairy and sugar cravings. Now that I’m done with the challenge, I don’t feel like I need to live without bread or dairy anymore, but I do love finding great alternatives to them.

I found this recipe for gluten free blueberry muffins in the middle of my challenge month. I was tired of fruit smoothies and eggs for breakfast and just really reaaaaaallly wanted a muffin. Thankfully, these muffins were just the solution I needed. I was lucky enough to have everything I needed on hand already, and did a few more swaps to make this cleanse friendly. Yes, they still have a tiny bit of sugar in honey form, but way less than a normal muffin and all that almond flour adds a good bit of protein to otherwise filler muffins.

And the taste? Sooo good. I was honestly expecting the muffins to turn out so-so, but they were truly delicious. Super moist, lightly sweet and the almond flour creates an almost bran muffin like texture. Yumskies. I made these again about 2 weeks after the first time.

BlueberryMuffins_paleo447

Ingredients:

• 2 Cups Almond Flour (you can also use almond meal like the sell at Trader Joes — it’s just a bit coarser in texture)

• 1/2 tsp baking soda

• 1/8 tsp salt

• 2 eggs

• 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

• 1/4 cup honey (or less! I used a bit less)

• 2 tablespoons of ghee, melted (make these dairy-free but using coconut oil in place of ghee)

• 1 tablespoon lemon juice

• 1 tsp organic vanilla extract

• 1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

To Prepare:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F and line or grease your muffin tin. Combine all of your dry ingredients in a medium bowl. In another bowl, combine all of the wet ingredients. Stir the wet ingredients into the bowl of dry ingredients, then gently mix in the blueberries.

Fill 8 muffin cups about 2/3 full and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Recipe adapted from http://www.cookeatpaleo.com

One thought on “Gluten Free Blueberry Muffins

  1. I never think of muffins as a breakfast food, which is probably a Brit thing because they look an awful lot like cake! These look amazing though – I doubt we can get almond flour here, but you’ve inspired me to look at healthy options for some breakfast muffins for our weekend treat. Although first I have to find some muffin trays – who’d have thought that would be so difficult!

Leave a Reply

