Artist Inspiration: Leo Caillard

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 2.03.36 PM

I never thought I’d be so lucky as to live by the beach. Other than a few years as a kid in New Zealand where we lived near some rocky beaches, getting to the ocean has usually meant a long drive. Here in Cali we’re a mere mile from the ocean, which means that we can watch sunsets over the Pacific every night of the week, play in the sand whenever we want, and — my absolute favorite– breathe in salty ocean air as we drive along the coast. I still pinch myself that I live here.

Part of beach life is lifeguard towers. I spent most of my young adult life visiting Seaside in Florida where they don’t have lifeguards, but out here in Encinitas (and all of SoCal really) every major beach has lifeguards keeping watch in their towers. The towers aren’t really anything to get excited about…they are pretty much all the same. So I was LOVING these photos by French photographer Leo Caillard of lifeguard towers in Miami beach. Look at how fun and original each of these are! I wish I could read French so that I could know more about these photos. So fun.

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 2.04.35 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 2.04.22 PM Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 2.03.57 PM

It would be so much easier to find friends at the beach with these lifeguard towers. You could just say, “We’re at the American flag tower” and everyone would know where to go. Just something to think about Encinitas.

You can see more of Leo’s work here, including a really clever series called “Hipsters in Stone” where he dressed up statues to look like hipsters.

Screen Shot 2013-08-02 at 2.03.23 PMAll photos Ā© Leo Caillard.

 

Leave a Reply

