Dear God…

It’s blogging month at Compassion and I’m so honored to be a part of it. Compassion’s goal for September is for 3,108 children to be sponsored.  As of this Monday, about 1,500 kids have been sponsored.  It’s that awesome?!

I’ve got to wonder, what if all of my friends sponsored a child?

What if we spent $38 less on ourselves each month so that a child could be provided for?

What if we learned what it really means to give?

What if I really prayed for the children I already sponsor? How might that change my heart?

Dear God,

When you put it on my heart to sponsor a child through Compassion 10 years ago, I had no idea what was in store for me. I was practically broke and thought it just sounded like a good thing to do. When I saw Emmanual’s photo, I knew he was the one I was supposed to sponsor. He was just a tiny one back then… he’s a young man now! 10 years later and You’ve taught me a lot about giving, about caring for the poor and about your heart for children. I’m grateful for these boys you’ve entrusted us with. Watching Emmanuel grow into a young man has been a joy, and I’m so excited to get to know sweet little Alfredo.

Today I pray for Emmanuel. I pray for him to grow in wisdom in knowledge. I pray for his home life to be one that is safe, secure and loving. I pray for friends who will encourage him to live a life that would be glorifying to you. I pray for his time in school, that his mind will be able to drink in of his studies so that in a few years, he can find a good job to provide for his own family. I pray for his health, that you will protect him and keep him strong. I pray for his future, that he’ll be able to stand on his own two feet, that he’ll make wise decisions and that you’ll bless him with a family.

I pray for Alfredo, this sweet boy for El Salvador that we barely know but already love. I pray for his home life, that his parents will have work and that his home will be a place of love, safety and joy. I pray that Alfredo’s family will feel the blessings that come with this sponsorship, for full bellies and good health, for them all to come to know you. I pray for Alfredo at school, that he will grow and thrive there, and for good teachers who will encourage him to learn. I pray that the difficulties of life in El Salvador will be lessened by this sponsorship.

God, thank you for loving the poor, the fatherless, the orphans. Thank you for organizations like Compassion that make such a huge difference in the lives of hundreds of thousands of children around the world. Help me to remember to pray for these precious boys that I sponsor. It’s so easy to get caught up in the busyness of life and to forget to pray. Give me a heart that wants to put others first, a heart for prayer, a heart like yours.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

