Wicked Blueberry Coffee Cake

It’s day two of new blog week. I’m celebrating the new design of this blog with a post each day…something that doesn’t typically happen. To keep you up to speed, yesterday I showed off our beach side casita with a lil home tour. On Friday I told you how you can enter to win one of my Shared Joy screenprinted posters. All you need to do is sign up to receive my blog by either email or RSS (just look over to the right to sign up) and leave a comment. It’s that easy! You have all week to enter. And today I’m excited to share with you this yummy coffee cake recipe we’ve been munching on all week.

I actually found this recipe in a novel that recently read called Murder on the Rocks by Karen MacInerney. A quick and easy read, the story follows a bed and breakfast owner up in Maine who seems to always be getting herself in the middle of these murder mysteries…all while maintaining her inn with the most amazing baked goods. My mouth literally waters with each chapter. Lucky for me, the author has been kind enough to post most of her recipes at the end of each novel! This is the first of the recipes I’ve tried but won’t be the last. I’ve moved on to her next novel, Dead and Berried, where, once again, the inn keeper is baking delicious foods and getting herself in a world of trouble. Sheesh! Definitely a fun and easy summer read.

This recipe is SUPER quick and easy. The dough itself seemed super dense when I was trying to spread it but the recipe itself turned out to be just right — moist with just enough sweetness and the best crumble topping.

Ingredients:
1/2 C butter, softened
1 C sugar
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 C flour (I used 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat)
1 C sour cream, vanilla yogurt OR Greek yogurt (2%)
2 C fresh or frozen blueberries

Topping:
1 C brown sugar
1/4 C butter (softened)
1/4 C flour

1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Add in the next 6 ingredients, mix, then slowly add in the 2 cups of flour and sour cream.

2. Carefully fold in your blueberries. Pour your batter into a greased 9″ x 13 ” baking pan (**side note: you can also bake this in a 9 x 9 pan, as I did, however it will take at least twice as long to bake and I don’t recommend it)

3. In a small separate bowl mix together the brown sugar and butter for the topping. Add in the flour until you get a semi-dry crumbly mixture. If the mix is still too wet, add more flour a tablespoon at a time until it’s more dry. Spread the topping on top of the cake batter with a spatula. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

5 thoughts on “Wicked Blueberry Coffee Cake

  1. I like how you gave us a book recommendation as well as a recipe! I’m going to make a gluten free version this week!

    1. They are fun summer reads! And I love that each book has recipes at the back. I just found out that there are two more books in the series so I just requested them from the library (I checked out all of them from the Encinitas library).

Leave a Reply

