A Letter To Those Who Are Weary

When I was in college a dear friend introduced me to a writer named Amy Carmichael. It seemed that every time I had a heartbreak or trial in my life, Katie had the perfect Amy Carmichael quote to encourage my weary heart.

Amy Carmichael was an Irish girl who moved to India in 1895 to be a missionary. She quickly discovered that many girls in India were being sacrificed to the temples and then were used as temple prostitutes. Astounded, Amy began to make a home for these girls who needed protection and care. They affectionately called her Amma (mother).

In 1931, an accident in Amy’s life led to illness and increasing physical limitations, but her faith in God never waivered. Her letters from these times of illness and pain are a beautiful testimony of God’s provision and presence in her life, and have become one of my favorite placed to turn for encouragement and inspiration.

This morning I was passing on some of my favorite Amy Carmichael quotes to a friend who has a weary heart. Then I thought, I bet a lot of people feel the same way.

Weary.

Tired.

Beaten down.

There is hope.

There is a God who holds you in His arms, who loves you more than you could ever imagine.

So for all the weary hearts out there, some encouragement from a woman who knew how it felt to be broken, defeated, weary and down. I think her words are beautiful. I hope you agree.

“HE knows what HE is doing… There will be a lovely ending to this story of frustration, something worth all it has cost.”

____________________

(italics mine)

” The best training is to learn to accept everything as it comes, as from Him whom our soul loves. The test are always unexpected things, not great things that can be easily written up, but the common little rubs of life, silly little nothings, things that you are ashamed of minding one scrap. Yet they can knock a strong man over and lay him low.

“It is a very good thing to learn to take things by the right handle. An inward grouse is a devastating thing. I expect you know this, we all do; but it is extraordinary how the devil tried to ‘get’ us on the ordinary road of life. But all is well if only we are in Him, deep in Him, and He in us is our daily strength and song.

“I have read and re-read the bit in your letter about the love that constrains. Nothing less will hold on to the end. Feelings can be shaken and the fight can be fearfully discouraging, for sometimes we seem to be losing ground and all seems to be going wrong. Then the devil comes and paints glorious pictures of what could have been. He did to me — I can see those pictures still. But as we go on steadfastly obeying the word that compelled, we do become aware that IT IS ALL WORTHWHILE. We KNOW it, we KNOW Him with us, and that is life.

“I am going to ask that the consciousness of His presence with you may be constant and very sweet. I know the difference this makes. But you are not a child in Him; you have passed the point where that is needful. You KNOW Him near, with you and in you. JOY though it be to be conscious of that blessed One, the great thing is not my feeling but His fact.

So if there are fogs on the sea on any day or any night — still all’s well.”

(from Amy Carmichael’s Candles In The Dark)

One thought on “A Letter To Those Who Are Weary

Leave a Reply

