Slow Cooked Short Ribs in Tomato Sauce

Don’t you love the Pioneer Woman? Not only doesRee make life on the farm look fun and somewhat glamorous, but she also cooks up some amazing meals that every cowboy husband will love. While I keep trying to serve up several vegetarian meals a week, my hubby always feels like he’s missing out (why don’t they ever teach that things like spinach and quinoa are equally filling proteins??), so I decided that I’d treat him to something hearty, something that once had a pulse. ew. As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew that I had to make it. I’ll admit, I’ve never made short ribs before and I was a wee bit nervous about it, but this recipe proved to be easier than easy. I love any recipe where I can throw everything in a crock pot, leave for 8 hours and have a delicious meal. Ree suggests making this the night before so that you have time to put the finished product in the fridge to cool –the best way to get any excess grease out of it — but I didn’t plan that well ahead, nor did I notice much oil in the sauce so I just cooked this up in the morning and ate it for dinner that night.

The result? Oh my goodness, falling apart, sweet but smoky short ribs in a sauce that is amazing even on its own. This dish tasted AMAZING! We served it up on some wide linguini noodles. I’d totally make this for some special dinner guests. They’d be so impressed and think I had slaved away all day…just don’t tell them I just filled a pot and walked away. Now that’s my kinda gourmet. Yum.

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks.

Ingredients:

• 8 whole Beef Short Ribs (we just bought 1 lb which was 4 ribs…plenty for 4 people; we also used boneless ribs but you can go either way)
• 2 T Olive Oil
• Sprinkle of Salt And Pepper, to taste
• 1 T Sugar
• 4 cloves Garlic, Crushed
• 1 small-medium Onion, Diced
• 1 cup Red Wine
• 1 can (28 Ounce) Whole or Diced Tomatoes Tomatoes
• 1 can (14 Ounce) Tomato Sauce
• 1 tsp Salt
• 1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
• 1/4 tsp Ground Thyme
• 1 pound Fettuccine
• Grated Parmesan Cheese to top
• Minced Fresh Parsley

To Prepare:
Heat a large saute pan and cover the bottom of the pan with some olive oil. Take your short ribs and sprinkle with some salt and pepper, then add them to the hot pan, allowing them to brown on each surface, turning them about every 1.5-2 minutes. Once brown, remove from pan.

Remove pan from heat. Drain or blot excess oil from the pan, then return the pan to heat and add the diced onion and garlic. Cook for about 2 minutes.

At this point you can either make this meal in a crock pot (cooking on low for 7-8 hours) or in a dutch oven in your oven (275F for 4 hours). I made my dish in a crock pot since I didn’t want to leave the oven on all day…but either way will work just fine. I’m going to give the directions based on a crock pot — if you want to cook in a dutch oven the only difference is you need to cook it all in an oven-safe pot coverd at 275 for 4 hours. Yes — 4 hours.

Ok, so if you are going the crock pot route, turn your pot on low heat and add the cooked onions and garlic, browned ribs, tomatoes, tomato sauce, red wine, sugar, thyme, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Stir and cover. Let it cook on low for 6-7 hours. For the last hour, remove the lid while it cooks to help the sauce to thicken. Inhale the amazing smells…. ahhhhh!

If you notice a healthy (er…non-healthy) layer of grease on the top of your dish, the easiest way to get it out of your food is to let the pot cool completely in the fridge. The oils will rise to the top of your dish and harden, making it easy to remove. Then you just heat up the ribs and sauce before serving. My dish didn’t really have much grease at all, at least none that I noticed so I was able to skip this step.

Serve over cooked fettucine noodles, sprinkled with grated parmesean and parsley. Bon appetito!

(anyone notice my hubby’s neon beer cozy in the background? he just snuck that in the shot to show it off.)

Leave a Reply

