From Cream to Dream

The other day I was standing in my kitchen looking out at our tiny apartment space. Do you know what I saw? Cream. Everywhere cream, cream and more cream. Cream walls, cream tiles on the floor, cream ceiling, cream cabinets, cream counters. Then you go into the bathroom… cream, cream, cream. Bedrooms? Even more. It’s like the owner of this building held up a vanilla colored swatch and told his builder to match it and match it good. It’s a vanilla cream explosion.

The problem is that I’m more of a chocolate girl than vanilla–apparently with walls and cabinets as much as with ice cream. Sure, I appreciate those who can turn a milky white space into greatness but it will never happen with me and it will never happen here. I love color, patterns, stripes too much. The other problem is that the builder used cheap materials so while I appreciate the use of neutrals, too many neutrals has led to zero contrast. What I would give for some wood floors! And some paint (not allowed)! Ahhh!

Thankfully we won’t be in this space forever so I won’t have to live in vanilla-land forever but all this blah space has got me dreaming of beautiful interiors. I confess that I spend a lot of time on Pinterest, pinning and pining away for all the lovely rooms that I see. And while I can’t make any cosmetic changes to this place, I’ve seen a few DIY projects on Pinterest that could snazzy up this place.

1. headboard pallet project. I’ve been a little bit obsessed with pallets lately and all the things you can do with them. I love this suggestion of turning one or some old pieces of wood into a headboard and adding a colorful word to it

2. I can’t get enough of Chevron stripes either! I’m loving this idea of painting your own onto a run. If I had a sunroom or screened-in porch this would be perfect!

3. This one is so creative and totally appeals to me as a designer. They used thumbtacks to create this beautiful writing on the wall. Brilliant! Beautiful type choice, too. Pretty sure my landlord would not appreciate all the holes when we move out though.

2 thoughts on “From Cream to Dream

  1. Love this post, Alexis! Just moved into a new house and am considering decorating ideas. The thumbtacks are too cool…

Leave a Reply

