Harvest Couscous

I AM A SLACKER. There, I said it. I actually have LOTS to post about, I just never find the time to do it! Praise God for all the work but man, I’m tired!

I have a few new recipes to share. The problem is that the photos are all on my hubby’s computer so I need to get them before I post. Alas. For today, though, I have this delish recipe that I found on Whole Food’s website. They have such amazing recipes! So flavourful and healthy. I totally suggest browsing their collection. This couscous recipe caught my eye immediately despite the fact that they called it “fall harvest” couscous and it’s almost summer. It totally would be amazing around Thanksgiving with its pecans, squash and dried cranberries… I just couldn’t wait that long to try it!

This recipe is a total winner! Healthy, full of flavor, easy and fairly quick. And after watching J gobble up 2nds and thirds of this dish, I’m pretty confident it will go into my monthly recipe rotation.

A quick and helpful hint: Trader Joe’s carries already cut up butternut squash in their produce section! I bought a bag and just cut the pieces a bit smaller for this dish. Also, while couscous cooks up super fast, you have to roast the squash and let it cool (which of course I didn’t read and therefore didn’t do… and it was fine) before making this dish so allow yourself an extra 30 minutes or so.

Adapted from Whole Foods.

Ingredients:

2 C butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 medium onion, diced
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 cups couscous
1 1/3 cups water, chicken or vegetable broth
1 tablespoon butter
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup pecans, toasted
1/4 cup finely chopped flat leaf parsley

Directions

Preheat oven to 425°F. Combine butternut squash, onion, olive oil, nutmeg, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Spread on a rimmed baking sheet. Roast until squash and onion brown slightly, stirring occasionally, about 25 minutes. Allow to cool.

**At this point, butternut squash and onion mixture can be frozen. Defrost in refrigerator for several hours or in the microwave.

Combine squash and onion mixture (defrosted if you froze it), water or stock, butter and cranberries in a large saucepan and bring to a simmer. Add couscous and cover. Remove your pan from heat and let stand for 10 minutes. Stir in pecans and parsley and season to taste with salt and pepper. Fluff with a fork and serve. I served this with some roasted veggies and grilled chicken.

 

Leave a Reply

