Blueberry Scones

It’s a rare day that I wake up before the hubby on a Saturday morning. I usually have to peel myself out of bed, and then stumble straight to the couch, still half-asleep. This weekend, though, I was bright-eyed and hungry as soon as I woke up and went straight to the kitchen to make these tasty treats while J staying in bed. Who wouldn’t want to wake up to the smell of blueberry scones baking in the oven? YUM is right!

I’m not a huge baker. I don’t always have the patience for the time it takes, especially in the mornings. I love how forgiving cooking is as opposed to baking which requires much more exactness. I don’t have much of a relationship with me measuring cups. Nevertheless, I had been wanting to try out this recipe for a few weeks and Saturday morning was the day! I will say, this recipe was a bit more involved that most baking recipes I try, but it wasn’t difficult. At one point, J came into the kitchen and said that it looked like I was making origami and honestly, at some points, it felt like it with all the folding and cutting of the dough. The end result is a soft, lightly sweet blueberry scone that I can see myself going back to again and again. They were delicious! The best part of this recipe (other than blueberries which I LOVE) is that you can freeze the dough so that you can pop scones in the oven any day of the week and eat them piping hot!

Ingredients:

8 tbsp. (1 stick) unsalted butter, frozen whole
1½ cups fresh, frozen blueberries
½ cup whole milk
½ cup sour cream
2 cups white whole wheat (all-purpose) flour, plus more for dusting the work surface
½ cup sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
2 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

• Preheat oven to 425 and make sure you have a rack in the middle of the oven. Using a cheese grater, grate the frozen stick of butter, being careful not to grate your fingers in the process (this is much faster if you have a food processor that can do this. I don’t so I had to grate the old fashioned way). Set butter aside.

• In a small bowl, whisk together the milk and sour cream. Place in the fridge until needed to keep it cold.

• In another bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the grated butter to the flour mixture and mix with your hands until thoroughly coated.  Add the milk mixture to the flour mixture and mix with a spatula until combined. It will be a crumbly mess.

• Transfer the dough to a floured work surface. Sprinkle flour onto the dough and knead 4-5 times until you create a messy, ragged ball of dough.

• Roll the dough with a rolling pin (or in my case, wine bottle since we don’t have a rolling pin) into a 12-inch square shape. Fold the dough into thirds like you a folding a letter. Then fold the short sides into thirds too into the center, creating a 4-inch (approx) square shape. Put the dough like this onto a flour dusted plate and place in the freezer for 5 minutes to chill.

• After five minutes, retrieve your chilled dough and roll into another 12-inch square. Sprinkle your frozen blueberries evenly over the dough, pressing them into the dough to make them stay. Roll the dough up lenthwise to create a long, tight log shape. Lay the log seam side down and flatten into a 12-inch x 4-inch area (it should still be pretty thick).

• Using a sharp, floured knife, cut your dough into 12-16 triangles. Brush the tops with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar, then transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake 18-20 minutes, until golden brown.

** If freezing them to bake later, FLASH FREEZE on a baking sheet first, then wrap individually (I wrapped mine in parchment paper, then put them in a large ziplock baggie) and return to the freezer.

recipe adapted from Entertaining From Cook’s Illustrated

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Scones

  1. Wow, Lex! These are delicious! I just made 1/2 the batch and froze half. I had to use raspberries because I couldn’t get blueberries. I think next time I might add a little white chocolate. Thanks for the recipe!-Katie

Leave a Reply

