The No-Butter Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Whew! That’s a mouthful! I stumbled upon this recipe when Jason was out of town last week. I was at home, bored, and had a bit of a sweet tooth. Time to start baking!

These are some delish cookies, but I have to admit I was a little worried about the process. First of all, they took all of 2 minutes to whip up a batch which was super easy. And then there was the batter. Gooey and sticky to say the least. I mean, no butter didn’t seem crazy but they also only have half a cup of flour so I wasn’t entirely convinced I’d done everything right when the batter came out as sticky as it did. Nevertheless, I scooped them on a baking sheet and hoped for the best. The result… soft, chewy, delicious peanut buttery cookies with warm, melted chocolate chips.

These cookies are winners, folks. I love how quick and easy they were to mix up. I especially love that the recipe calls for NO butter and uses whole wheat flour. It just makes me feel a little less guilty when I grab for a second… or third… cookie.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used the all-natural, no sugar kind)
  • 1 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats (DO NOT use instant oats)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp all-natural vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 F and line baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone mats.

2. Beat peanut butter and brown sugar in a stand mixer or with an electric hand mixer on medium speed for 3 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, until incorporated. Mix in flour until just incorporated then mix in oats, baking soda, vanilla and cinnamon, being careful not to over-mix. Stir in chocolate chips by hand.

3. The dough will be pretty sticky. Don’t worry. Using an ice cream scoop or a small spoon, drop balls of evenly sized dough onto the prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the tops are golden. Cool on a cooling rack. Makes about 2 dozen cookies

Adapted from this recipe.

One thought on “The No-Butter Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Quinn and I made these cookies yesterday and they were a HUGE success. We all loved them, thanks for sharing the recipe. I love that they have so much protein, it made me not feel so guilty for letting Quinn have one for lunch:). We will be making them again soon!

Leave a Reply

