Asian Beef with Broccoli


I know, I know. I should be designing right now but I’m just so distracted! I took some photos last week of surfers that I’m dying to edit and show you guys but that will just have to wait. Priorities, ya know? But I really wanted to share this recipe with you guys today. I have been looking for a really good recipe for beef with broccoli for a while now since it is one of my favorite Chinese restaurant dishes. This recipe is based on one I found by the Pioneer Women (if you haven’t discovered her yet, check out her blog). I’ve tweaked her recipe a bit — it was too ginger-y for me and a bit too rich. All in all, this is a super easy and delicious meal. It took about 15 minutes to prepare (yay!), thanks to Trader Joe’s organic brown rice that you just pop in the microwave. I could easily make something like this once or twice a month. And what I love about recipes like this is that you can totally alter them to suite your tastes… use chicken instead of beef or add in different veggies. I think you’ll love this one.

Ingredients
• 1½ pound Flank Steak, Trimmed Of Fat And Sliced Very Thin Against The Grain
• ½ C Low Sodium Soy Sauce
• 3 T Sherry Or Cooking Sherry
• 2 T Brown Sugar
• 2 T orange juice
• 2 Tablespoons Cornstarch
• 1 tsp Minced Fresh Ginger
• 1 clove garlic, minced
• 5 whole Scallions (green onions), Cut diagonally into small half-inch pieces
• 1 large head of broccoli, cut into smaller pieces
• 2 T Sesame Oil (preferred) or Olive Oil
• Crushed Red Pepper, to taste (optional)
• Jasmine or brown Rice, Cooked According To Package

In a pan, boil about an inch of water and add broccoli spears. Cover and let cook until soft.

Meanwhile, in a bowl mix together soy sauce, sherry, brown sugar, cornstarch, and ginger. Add sliced meat to bowl and toss with hands. Set aside.

Heat oil in a heavy skillet or wok over high heat. Add garlic and cook about 30 seconds. With tongs, add half the meat mixture, leaving most of the marinade still in the bowl. Add half the scallions. Spread out meat as you add it to pan so that it has room to breathe, but do not stir for a good minute. Let the meat brown well then turn meat to the other side and cook for another 30 seconds-1 minute. Remove to a clean plate. Repeat with other half of meat, allowing pan to get very hot again first. After turning it, add the first plateful of meat, the rest of the marinade, and the steamed broccoli. Stir over high heat for 30 seconds, then turn off heat. Mixture will thicken as it sits.

Serve immediately over rice. Some might like to sprinkle crushed red pepper over the top to give it some spice.

2 thoughts on “Asian Beef with Broccoli

  1. Delish. Everything I’ve made of hers is so tasty, though a little on the fatty side usually (probably why it tastes so stinkin’ good). Anywho, hope things are treating you well out west in the most desirable place to live in the country (mine). Your blog is great. Just wanted to tell you:)

    1. It’s true–a lot of her dishes are more on the unhealthy side of things but this one is pretty good! I’m even tempted to try it vegetarian (although the beef was pretty dang delish). SD is amazing. After almost a year here I STILL can’t believe that I live a few blocks from the beach and get to have the most amazing weather every day!

Leave a Reply

