Muffin Tops and Other Sad Discoveries

Before I got married I rarely thought about my weight. I didn’t have to. I worked out several times a week, ate salads and sandwiches for dinner and nothing seemed to change. A few years ago I even made a lofty goal for myself (literally!) to climb to the highest peak in Africa and got my body in such amazing shape that even my guy friends were commenting that I looked “fit.” ME! FIT! I have always been the artsy girl, never the athletic girl so this was huge to me. I was actually in great shape!

Enter marriage. The happy days. I started cooking. A lot. I fell in love with Encinitas’ taco shops cause I’m in San Diego… you kinda have to. And we discovered the joy of the frozen yogurt places. You know the kind where you fill the cup yourself and top it with whatever candies your parents never allowed when you were a kid? We started going enough to fill up several punch cards worth of freebies. It was a bad idea.

Sometime a few months into wedded bliss I stepped on a scale. I shouldn’t have been surprised. I mean, I had noticed a little “cozyness” on my sides but the number that blinked below me… yikes! Surely the scale was off or I just was retaining water, right?

But the muffin top told a different story. They always do.

So here’s the deal. I decided to fight back. A friend loaned me their copy of P90X (you know it…that hard-core 90 day workout regime that has everyone looking ripped and shiny) and I got started. I was a bit worried at first. I mean, I didn’t wanna look like a muscle-clad girl. Plus, I’d heard rumors about how hard the workouts were, about friends dropping out after 2 weeks. Could I even keep up?

Well, friends, it’s been 3.5 weeks and I’m proud to say that I’m almost 30 days in and still going strong. The videos, while challenging, aren’t crazy hard AT ALL, although my body most definitely was hurting in all kinds of place the first 2 weeks. I’m used to boxing class and spin class so I guess I’m already in decent shape, which helps. I’m doing their lean version which was recommended for women who don’t want to bulk up. It’s more cardio than weights, and I almost get excited about some of the videos (kempo is super fun). I haven’t seen a whole lot of loss on the scale…maybe 3 lbs but nothing worth celebrating yet, but I think that takes time. I can tell that my body is slowly transforming, though, and I’m excited to see the end result. I can guarantee that if I keep up with this there will be no muffin tops.

_____________________________________________________________
On a totally different note… if you haven’t heard of Drew Holcomb and the Neighbors you’re missing out. Check out their brand new music video. I swear, Ellie’s voice just gets more amazing ever time I hear her.

2 thoughts on “Muffin Tops and Other Sad Discoveries

  1. I know a great Nutritional Therapist who can help you out as well with a 12 week anti-inflammatory diet to go along with that exercise! Good food, healthy and doable. It works!

Leave a Reply

