Oh-My-Goodness Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies


Here’s the cookie recipe everyone has been asking for! I’ll be honest, just thinking about writing this post made me run into the kitchen to grab one of these cookies. They really are that good.

I love anything with Nutella in it, a love-love relationship that started back when I studied abroad in Italy for a semester of college and enjoyed LOTS of the delicious chocolate hazelnut spread. Nutella gelato, nutella crepes, nutella on toast…now nutella cookies! Sigh. J and I were having friends over for dinner last night, and I wanted to serve something for dessert but nothing too heavy, knowing that we are all trying to eat healthier this year. When I spotted this recipe on Alpineberry I just knew I had to try it. The cookies really were pretty basic to make and they taste amazing! The are soft and chewy, chocolate-y without being overly rich and with a hint on cinnamon which I love. I have no doubt our batch of cookies will be gone by tomorrow.

Ingredients:
1 1/3 cup all-purpose whole wheat flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt
7 T unsalted butter, softened
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2/3 cup Nutella (chocolate hazelnut spread)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 egg
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a medium sized bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside dry ingredients.

In a separate mixing bowl, cream together butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in Nutella and vanilla extract, then mix in egg.

Add flour mixture and mix until just incorporated. Add chocolate chips and mix litely.

Drop tablespoons of dough 2 inches apart onto parchment lined (or just greased) baking sheets. Bake for about 11 minutes until the edges look set. Cool on baking sheet for a few minutes minutes before carefully remove to cooling racks. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

2 thoughts on “Oh-My-Goodness Nutella Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

