Black Bean and Corn Salad

Bleh. I have such a cold today. It hit me out of no where Sunday night and doesn’t seem to wanna leave! Don’t you hate that? Thankfully, I am married to Mr. Wonderful who smiles when I whine and made me blueberry muffins today for breakfast. Sigh. Unfortunately for him, when I’m sick I don’t have much of an appetite or a desire to cook anything. In fact, I’m contemplating cereal for dinner tonight if this cold doesn’t go away.

The other night I really didn’t feel like cooking anything either but I had a bunch of veggies in the fridge and chicken already defrosted so I forced myself to cook a little comfort food to feed this cold.

You can’t live on black beans and corn alone… I served this with some fajita quesadillas that I’ll share with you tomorrow… but after chowing down on this salad again today for lunch, I just knew I had to share the recipe. It’s SO good and so easy. You could actually call it a salsa and serve it with chips, but I most often serve it as a side dish next to my favorite Mexican foods like fish tacos and quesadillas. This is one of those dishes that is best when it gets some time to chill in the fridge a bit before serving which makes it also great to make way ahead of time when company is coming over or if you are taking it to a party. Also note–this recipe calls for avocados which aren’t in my photo because they weren’t ripe enough yet but use them! They make this dish even more delicious.

Ingredients
1 can yellow corn, drained
1 can white corn, drained
2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
1 bunch chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 C finely chopped red onion
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 avocado – peeled, pitted and diced
1 tsp minced garlic
1/4 C lime juice (about 3 limes)
2 T olive oil

In a medium-sized bowl, gently mix together the corn, black beans, cilantro, onion, red pepper, avocado and garlic, taking care not to mush the avocado. Gently mix in the lime juice and olive oil. Chill and serve.

5 thoughts on “Black Bean and Corn Salad

  1. I used to have this recipe but have no idea where it is now! So, now I’m writing it down and putting it safely in my recipe box again. Thanks for sharing!
    Love, DL

Leave a Reply

