Katie’s Pecan Sweet Potato Souffle

We spent this past Thanksgiving with a family that really is like family to us, if not by blood. They are the kindest, most loving people you will ever meet. Nina had asked me to bring some type of sweet potatoes for dinner. I think she thought that maybe, being from the south, this would be my specialty. Not so much. My mom is a Cali girl herself, so we never had sweet potatoes at the holidays, and only recently had I started roasting sweet potatoes with salt and rosemary. This was gonna have to be an experimental recipe until…

Sweet friend Katie to the rescue! We were chatting on Skype about a week before Thanksgiving (she is my most jet-setting friend, currently living in Scotland) and I asked her if she had any good recipes for sweet potatoes. I was in luck! Not only did she have a recipe, but it was award-winning when she entered in a cook-off in Canada! You guys… it was AMAZING! So delicious and smooth without the overly sweet marshmallows. The only thing I added was a hint of cinnamon because I can’t get enough of cinnamon these days. Everyone at the table got seconds. This would be perfect with your Christmas dinner spread of ham, green beans and figgy pudding. Thank you, Katie, for this amazing recipe! I only wish I had taken a photo of it AND made more so that we could still be eating it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ingredients
3 cups sweet potatoes or yams, peeled, boiled and mashed
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 cup butter, melted
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup milk

Topping:
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup pecans, chopped (I’ve also used walnuts in place of the pecans)
1/3 cup flour
1/3 cup butter, melted

1. Mix all ingredients for sweet potato mixture together. Pour into baking dish
(I used my large 9×13 dish but I also did 1.5 times the recipe).
2. Mix all ingredients for topping, sprinkle evenly over top of potato mixture.
3. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

