Creamy Lemon Linguini with Grilled Tuna

I’m a big fan of Rachael Ray’s Classic 30 Minute Meals cookbook. It is a great reference for me when I need something quick and easy to cook. I love that she doesn’t use complicated recipes or fancy ingredients so I often have just what I need already in the fridge.

This is one of my many favorite recipes from Rachael Ray’s cookbook. I’ve made this linguini recipe enough times now that I can pretty much do it from memory. Of course, I prefer to cook from taste rather than measured amounts anyways, so cooking from memory always makes recipes my own. Anyways, this is a yummy dish. I’ve served the pasta alone with just a side salad, or I’ve served it with grilled chicken on top. Most recently, though, I served it with grilled tuna and my greek panzanella salad and it was a hit! I little on the summery side without being too light, a great mix of flavors.

Serves 4-6

Linguini
1 lb linguini or tagliatelle pasta
8 T butter (you can use less, just don’t use margarine, please!)
8 T lemon juice (about the juice of 4 lemons)
zest of 1 lemon
1 C heavy whipping cream
1 C grated parmigiano reggiano cheese
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 C chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley

Tuna
4 pieces Albacore tuna (I usually look for one tuna steak about the size of my palm per person)
extra virgin olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat your grill. Brush EVOO on both sides of the tuna and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place tuna on grill for about 5 minutes per side, depending on the thickness. Do NOT overcook.
2. Boil pasta according to box time — until al dente (not too soft)–then drain. While cooking the pasta, you can prepare the sauce.
3. In a large skillet, melt the butter over medium-low heat. Add lemon juice and zest and simmer about 3 min.
4. Whisk in cream and half of the cheese. Bring just to a simmer and remove from heat.
5. Toss drained (but NOT rinsed) pasta with the sauce. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Serve immediately topped with grilled tuna and a sprinkle of fresh parsley.

One thought on “Creamy Lemon Linguini with Grilled Tuna

  1. Yum, and glad to see the use of whole cream and butter (organic from pasture fed cows.) For those with gluten sensitivities, quinoa linguini is a great alternative.

Leave a Reply

