Easy Peasy Turkey Chili


I’ve been craving chili lately, which is a bit odd since San Diego is experiencing a December heat wave. It was almost 80 this past weekend! This sunday I layed out at the beach for the afternoon and then made a big pot of hot soup for dinner! Weird, I know. This is one of the easiest AND most delicious chili recipes I’ve made in a long time and for that it will become a winter staple in our house, I’m sure. I served it topped with shredded cheese and a hot loaf of crusty bread on the side. I have a picture but who knows how long until I dig myself out of my design craziness to post it.

Ingredients
2 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 cup Yellow Onion, Diced
2 cloves Garlic, Minced
1 pound Ground Turkey Breast
1 can (15 Oz.) Petite Diced Tomatoes
2 cans (15 0z. each can) Tomato Sauce
1 can (15 Oz.) Black Beans, Rinsed And Drained
1/2 Cup water
1-2 Tablespoons Chili Powder (more for some kick)
2 Tablespoon Cumin (more To Taste)
1 cup Shredded Cheese
Salt And Pepper to taste

Instructions
1. Warm extra virgin olive oil in a deep stock pot over medium-high heat. Add diced onion and garlic; saute until tender.
2. Add ground turkey breast; season with salt and pepper and cook until no longer pink, about 6 minutes.
3. Add petite diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, black beans and water.
4. Add chili powder and cumin to taste.
5. Reduce heat to medium-low
6. Simmer 10-15 minutes, longer if you have time. The turkey will soak up all the tomato sauces over time. I give it 30 minutes to simmer when I can.
7. Serve with shredded cheese sprinkled on top. Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

